On a Mission: Answered Prayers

Today was the day I wondered if it would ever come.  Today I got some amazing news that, no doubt, will change my life for ever.

I told you all about the Captain’s Dinner & Fishing Tournament just a few days ago.  After all of those funds and the funds from the trunk show I did last Thursday, my husband and I still had somewhere around $900 to raise to make our balance zero with the mission trip planners.  When you start with $5-6,000, that is a sweet day to say you’re down in the 3 digits!  We were stoked!  That is still a bunch of money though, my word!  However our October fundraising schedule looked pretty good so we were confident that we would probably be done by November.  Then we could start fundraising for expenses that are outside of our official trip fees (plane ticket, lodging, etc) such as childcare expenses, clothing for while I am there, etc etc.

I woke up this morning on a mission to figure out how I was going to set up my booth at Old Timer’s Day since it would be different than my trunk show set up.  It’s an outside venue which means there aren’t walls to lean my mirrors and such against.  Around 11:30 we got a text from our pastor who had great news to share.  He said that someone donated $375 toward our total needed!!  That took us down to $864 according to his records.  That’s awesome!  Josh and I texted back and forth a bit about it and were super excited.

At 1:11, I get ANOTHER text from our pastor saying that we were just gifted ANOTHER $243!  That took our total down to $621 left according to the official record.  I reminded him that I had $360 to turn in from the trunk show and other jewelry sales so that would take us down to $200-some-odd left.  All three of us were super excited (Josh, Pastor Scott and I).

Fast forward another couple of hours to abut 3:15.  My phone rings and it’s the pastor again.  He asked me to give him an exact amount that I would be turning in to him.  I went to my jar in the kitchen where I keep my funds waiting to be turned in and pulled all checks out to recount.  (Sorry to those of you who gave checks last week at the trunk show, I forgot to take them to church Sunday so they will deposit NEXT Monday)  I started adding it up and had to recount twice.  Somehow my total wasn’t $360, it was $395 PLUS cash (I believe…I might be wrong)!  He was tickled because with that amount and the person who came into his office since the last time we texted back and forth who gave more to our mission fund, we were FULLY FUNDED!  Aaaaahhahahahahahahhaaaa!  I cannot tell you the feeling I have today to know that, beyond a shadow of a doubt, Josh and I will be on the plane on December 26th!  I am beside myself.    Not only are WE fully funded, our entire team is fully funded as of today!

I wish I could express to you how big of a deal this is.  16 people are fully funded, two and a half months before departure.  Each person owed $2,400.  That means God provided $38,400 in five months.  That is so overwhelming to me.  And then to take that a step further, to think that in ten months, God has provided $7,200 for my husband and I to participate in His work.  I cannot fathom why he would pick two incredibly imperfect people to do His work.  Oh my goodness, I pray I can represent him well.  In His strength and guidance only…  I am so humbled by how he has moved.

Friday-Sunday of this week I have two vendor/speaking events which will go toward those “other” expenses that I mentioned earlier.  They will also be used to help other team members with their needs should the need be there.

THANK YOU ALL who are on my contributor’s page.  You all are part of my praises tonight.  I am so thankful that God worked through you in such an amazing way.

Cheers,
Andrea

3 thoughts on “On a Mission: Answered Prayers

    • Thank you so much! I mean it when I say this is your story now too! Anything that happens as a result of this trip will be to your credit too. God’s work and word will go on because of your obedience to give and support morally and financially!

  1. Pingback: On a Mission: Wind, Cold and Petticoat Junction | Seriously Outnumbered

Leave a Reply

