On a Mission: Rajasthan, India – Fundraising Update and Outlook

In one of my last posts, I mentioned that God provided BIG through obedient people who gave VERY generously to help us meet the deadline for our deposit for this trip.  I cannot even begin to tell how encouraging this was for my husband and me.  It has been full steam ahead since then to come up with creative ideas to include all of the different personalities and interests of our friends, coworkers, family and church family for the remaining balance of our trip.  So many have voiced that they want to help so we are making ways for them to do so.

Here’s a heads up on tentative events we plan to use for this purpose:

JULY

4th of July Cake Sales:

Seeing as it’s the morning of July 5th this will be a recap.  8 cakes, 8 orders of cake truffles and a few chocolate covered strawberries were made this week.  Some still have to be baked and picked up this following week, one actually won’t be delivered until August.  A friend of mine came over to help me on the two big baking days.  She nearly completely took my stress level away.  She was such a big help and I couldn’t possibly thank her for all she did for me.

IMG_20140628_161840_315[1]

IMG_20140628_204744_517[1]

IMG_20140702_201512_353[1]

IMG_20140703_121949_733[1]

IMG_20140703_202018_477[1]

IMG_20140702_190928_600[3]

On July 19th, I will be hosting a Knitting 101 Workshop where I will be teaching  the basics of knitting.  If you’d like to check out specifics on that fundraiser, you can visit the facebook event dedicated to that.  Cost for this event is $25 and includes your needles, yarn, pattern and instruction as well as food and drink while you are there.

AUGUST

I have a Bunco Night planned.  There will be finger foods, desserts, door prizes, magazine bead jewelry on display and lots of laughing and cutting up with each other.  The cost for this this event is $20.  There will be cash and carry handmade magazine bead jewelry there as well.  If you’d like to RSVP for this event, head over to facebook and do so there!  Cost for this event is $20.  Prices for jewelry will vary.  August isn’t too soon to be thinking about Christmas gifts!

SEPTEMBER

Labor Day Cake Sales:  I will be taking orders for cakes, truffles and possibly other goodies for your Labor Day camping trips, parties and/or just because.  Who needs an excuse to indulge in cake anyway?  If you know you want to order a cake for that event, feel free to contact me now so I can pencil you in.  Space will be limited so I don’t get overwhelmed and rushed.  I want each person to get an amazing cake!

I will be setting up a table at the local Wal-Mart to do a Bake Sale.  For this event I will need folks who enjoy baking to donate items to put on my table.  I will be making and selling items that I just shared above.  If you are a local and would like to set up a table on my behalf at the Wal-Mart in Tullahoma, contact me and we can make that happen.

Trunk Shows:  I am really excited about this!  I am asking people who love to host events to rally their friends and host me for an evening.  I will speak about the calling on my life to travel to India to help plan a children’s home and life skills training center for women of sex trafficking.  I will also speak about how God lead me to learn the art of magazine bead jewelry.  Your guests will then be able to browse my handmade jewelry to purchase their favorite pieces for themselves or as Christmas gifts, after all it will only be a few months away by that time!

OCTOBER

October is my birthday month.  I will be having a Pampered Chef Cooking Show Fundraiser with all of my friends online and in person.  If you would like to help me celebrate, please plan to do so by purchasing items for yourself (or early Christmas gifts)  through my representative, Michelle DiPasquale, or donating to our fund in lieu of gifts.    All I want for my birthday is to make our trip budget.  Michelle will be setting up a fundraiser online so that I can earn money instead of product from my cooking show.  She has also agreed to donate 5% of her personal earnings to go toward our trip.

Trunk Shows:  I am really excited about this!  I am asking people who love to host events to rally their friends and host me for an evening.  I will speak about the calling on my life to travel to India to help plan a children’s home and life skills training center for women of sex trafficking.  I will also speak about how God lead me to learn the art of magazine bead jewelry.  Your guests will then be able to browse my handmade jewelry to purchase their favorite pieces for themselves or as Christmas gifts, after all it will only be a few months away by that time!

Fall/Halloween Cakes:  Are you a teacher who needs treats for your class or a room mother who has to provide snacks for a party?  Are you planning to give out special treats to special trick-or-treaters who come to your door?  I can help!  I plan to do cakes, cupcakes, truffles and possibly decorated sugar cookie pops  for this month.  This month, I will also be offering special coffee cakes!  If you came to my knitting 101 fundraiser workshop for Haiti, you were privileged to get to sample my recipe.  If you KNOW you want to get treats, please contact me now so I can pencil you in.  I will only be able to take a certain number of orders.

NOVEMBER

Dinner and Desserts Date Night.  We will be serving grilled chicken, rice and a steamed veggie (tentatively) and traditional American and Indian desserts.  I will be speaking during the event about the calling God has placed on my life to travel to India to help with the planning of a future children’s home and life skills center for women of sex trafficking.  I will also have one other speaker about their experience regarding missions to India.  A silent auction will also accompany this event.   If you cannot attend the event but would love to help with it, I will need donations for the silent auction, people to help with center piece design and individuals to help me sell tickets to the event.  If you want to attend the event as a volunteer, I will need servers, kitchen staff, greeters, set up and take down crews and decorations gurus!  Ticket price is still being decided but childcare will be on site and by donation.

Trunk Shows:  I am really excited about this!  I am asking people who love to host events to rally their friends and host me for an evening.  I will speak about the calling on my life to travel to India to help plan a children’s home and life skills training center for women of sex trafficking.  I will also speak about how God lead me to learn the art of magazine bead jewelry.  Your guests will then be able to browse my handmade jewelry to purchase their favorite pieces for themselves or as Christmas gifts, after all it will only be a few months away by that time!

Thanksgiving Cakes and Treats:  For November I will be offering slightly different baked goods.  I will still have the truffles and possibly coffee cakes, but I will be changing the cake flavors a bit.  Two layer spice cakes with cream cheese frosting as well as decorated sugar cookies will be the main attractions this month.  The sugar cookies can be for desserts, parties, the office just because or as name cards for your thanksgiving table.  Plan ahead to be sure you get in on this deal.  Space will be limited on my schedule book due to the amount of time all of these treats require of me.

Ornaments for India:  I will be creating a special Christmas tree ornament which can be purchased.  India will be the theme of the ornament.  It will serve as a reminder to always pray for the lost in India and for the missionaries serving there for the advancement of His Kingdom.

DECEMBER

I plan to set up at the local mall to offer Gift Wrapping.  For this event I need rolls of wrapping paper, tape, ribbon, scissors and tags donated as soon as possible.  The amount of donations I get for these items will determine how many days and shifts I will be able to provide.  I will also need volunteers to man the tables when my husband and I cannot and/or along side of us.

Cake Truffles: These are a perfect item to take to a Christmas party!  Small enough that they don’t take up too much room, yet tasty enough to get the crowd singing your praises for bringing them!  These will only be available the first two weeks of December.  Call me ahead of time to order yours so I have enough time to make them beautiful!

Trunk Shows:  I am really excited about this!  I am asking people who love to host events to rally their friends and host me for an evening.  I will speak about the calling on my life to travel to India to help plan a children’s home and life skills training center for women of sex trafficking.  I will also speak about how God lead me to learn the art of magazine bead jewelry.  Your guests will then be able to browse my handmade jewelry to purchase their favorite pieces for themselves or as Christmas gifts, after all it will only be a few months away by that time!

Ornaments for India:  I will be creating a special Christmas tree ornament which can be purchased.  India will be the theme of the ornament.  It will serve as a reminder to always pray for the lost in India and for the missionaries serving there for the advancement of His Kingdom.

In Honor Of:  If you don’t know what to get that hard to shop for person, make a donation to our trip in honor of him or her and I will give you a certificate to present them with to know they helped us answer God’s calling.  An investment in the Kingdom…that’s an amazing gift idea!

There are many different ways to get involved.  I appreciate those who already have gotten involved.  Please feel free to share this blog for those of you who are local.  I appreciate your support (all types) and your prayers.  Thank you to those of you who offer words of encouragement and believe in us.  This mission trip is a GOD SIZED task.  But the One True God can do more than we could ever expect, and exceedingly more than we can do in our own power and strength.  I praise Him everyday or what he has brought us through so far in this journey.  I thank him for trusting us to do his bidding.  My word, I feel so unqualified sometimes.

Cheers,
Andrea

One thought on “On a Mission: Rajasthan, India – Fundraising Update and Outlook

  1. Pingback: On a Mission: Learn How to Make Paper Bead Jewelry! | Seriously Outnumbered

Leave a Reply

