On a Mission: Magazine Bead Jewelry

Let me first say, fundraising isn’t easy.  I don’t like asking for money.  Everyone works SO hard for their money and it’s truly a sacrifice for people to give to anything or anyone these days.  It’s not something I take lightly.  I know God will move mountains on our behalf if we are truly called to something.

In the past week I have come to a place in my fundraising journey where I felt like I would take a break and just pray.  I’d learn about the places we will be going for God this year and a striking thing happened.  While looking online I found that in many areas of the world, women make jewelry as a means to making money for her family.  In many cases it’s what keeps her kids alive and half of a roof over their heads.  Some make jewelry with donated materials from organizations while others make jewelry from the trash around them that they take home and clean up first.  Check out Apparent Project out of Haiti.  It’s a beautiful project from which I took much inspiration.  What a beautiful mission.  To take trash and make something beautiful.  I love it!  It’s such a picture of what Christ does for us when we accept His saving grace.

I began to research magazine and/or paper bead making and decided to give it a try.  Here’s my very first piece of jewelry created with beads made from a Highlights Magazine.

IMG_20140516_085954_942

The striped beads are magazine beads the solid beads are glass beads. I love the way it turned out. I put a twisting barrel closure on both the necklace and the bracelet, both are made with hemp cord.

IMG_20140516_085959_632

I was so pleased as a matter of fact that I cut another two pages out of the magazine with slightly different colors in it and made these:

IMG_20140516_090011_991

IMG_20140516_090018_993

I sent these pictures to a friend of mine who is also planning to go to India this December and she wrote back that she really liked it and wanted to learn how to make the beads.  I invited her to come over the next day, Saturday, and I’d teach her and her daughter how do it.  They caught right on!  Here’s her first bead!

BeadWorkDay

And her very first creation!

LE Set

Isn’t it beautiful?  She did such a great job!  Her daughter ended up taking this set home with her:

IMG_20140516_085843_362

IMG_20140516_085856_353

 

That one was made with white paper and colored pens.  She loved the colors though they don’t show very well here.  They were bright and bold shades of pink, blue and green.

During my the last seven years, I have spent lots of time praying while I craft.  That is what I have purposed to do with these necklaces and bracelets for now.  I am using them as a tangible way to think about the people we will be serving this year while I ask for his direction in our fundraising efforts.  I’m not sure if He will lead me to sell these to help us with our India fundraising or if He will impress upon me to donate these to the children in the home in the Dominican Republic next month.  See they sell things at a little table which helps to fund their aquaponics set up that they have.  Maybe it will be for something completely different, I’m not sure.

IMG_20140516_085932_995

IMG_20140516_085940_927

Please join with me in praying for God to show me how to use these pieces of jewelry.  Please pray that God will show me and my husband how we are to proceed in our fundraising efforts.  We have sent out our prayer and support letters and are currently planning a dessert night and a father/son big fish fishing tournament.  Pray for God’s will in those two events as well.

Thanks for your continued prayers and support (emotional, spiritual, etc).  It really does mean the world to me.  If we are laid on your heart, would you write us either here or on Facebook and let us know.  It’s so encouraging to us to know people are praying for us.  Thank you so much!

Cheers!
Andrea

PS:  We did add one more name to the Contributor’s Page!  The Landrum Family!  Their Mother’s Day cake was delivered today!  Thank you so much for your contribution to our India vision trip!

 

One thought on “On a Mission: Magazine Bead Jewelry

  1. Pingback: On a Mission: Rajasthan, India – Fundraising Update and Outlook | Seriously Outnumbered

Leave a Reply

