I Run Because I Can. I Run for Liam!

Meet Liam!  He was born with a shortened 4th leg of his chromosomes.  The name given to individuals with this is Wolf-Hirschhorn Syndrome.

Meet Liam! He was born with a shortened 4th leg of his chromosomes. The name given to this condition is Wolf-Hirschhorn Syndrome.

 

 

Several months ago, I mentioned that I registered with http://www.whoirun4.com as a runner so I could be matched up with an individual who, for whatever reason, isn’t blessed with being able to go and do as he or she pleases, because of a health limitation.  Last Friday, April 25 I was matched with my new friend, Liam!  Isn’t he precious?

Each time I train or run a race, I will do it in his honor.  After each event I run in, I will send him goodies from the event such as a matching metal to mine or things from my swag bags, to include him in the success of my achievements.  There are days I have NO desire to get out and be active but Liam will be a constant reminder to take advantage of the God given ability and talent which I have been given.

 

Liam with his Easter bunny ears on!

Liam with his Easter bunny ears on!

I think it’s amazing how God gives us each strengths and weaknesses.  He creates us in our mother’s womb just the way he wants us to be.  No mistakes are made by the Most High God!  I am so thankful to be matched with such a cutie pie!  I can’t wait to get to know him and his family.  If you are a runner and would like to have a training buddy, check out the website I listed above.  I waited for 4-5 months for my match so be prepared for that.  If you are the parent or care giver of a person with limitations, feel free to register him or her for a runner — There is such a need!

Cheers,
Andrea

One thought on “I Run Because I Can. I Run for Liam!

  1. Pingback: I Want You To Meet a Special Friend of Mine! | Seriously Outnumbered

Leave a Reply

