Declutter the Distractions: Closets Part 1

One of my constant frustrations would have to be our closets!  Oh my word!  I swear when I step in front of any one of them I feel as if little tendrils of some exotic plant should be wrapping around my ankles, gripping tighter in hopes of pulling me into the dark, scary abyss.  How does one fix that problem?  Well there are many ways.  Let me first start by giving you the road map I plan to follow:

  1. Catch Up on Laundry:  I feel as thought I am being held at gunpoint against my will and forced to do unthinkable tasks each time someone asks if I can wash X, Y or Z for them to wear the next day.  Dishes would be the only other thing that is more painful than laundry.  As a result, my laundry chore tends to get backed up.  The cycle goes something like this.  Spend several days getting it all caught up, do a load or two a day for a week or so, get sidetracked and skip a couple days.  Get overwhelmed by the amount to do, put it off a couple more days.  Look in the closet…yep, we all still have enough to last through the week.  Put it off a little longer.  “Mom, have you seen my Angry Bird sweatshirt?”  Dig through the piles, find like colored clothing and wash it all together.  Clothes finish trying and are transported to a basket and then to the living room.  There they sit…for a while…  Spend several days doing laundry to get caught up….
  2. Make hanging clothes organizers:  This one is what we did tonight as a family.  Actually I started it last night and we continued tonight.  We still have three more sets to go but we are off to a good start.  More on this later.
  3. Once I can see everything we have, eliminate the unnecessary pieces.  Should anyone be able to go a month without doing laundry?  No.  That’s not natural (or healthy).  At least once a year, I take me and the boys down to the 7’s.  Seven shirts, pants, undies, pairs of socks, PJ’s, the works.  Everything else gets handed down or donated.  Simple as that.  With less clothes, one HAS to do laundry more often.  And besides, living in moderation is a good thing.  Nobody needs that many clothes.

Seems simple doesn’t it?  I have done all but #2 before.  Let’s hope that this is the perfect storm.  I will say, I am much better now that I ever used to be.  A few things have contributed to my growth in this area.  First off, I make my own laundry soap.  There’s a certain sense of pride one experiences when she can wash her clothes with something made with her own hands.  It saves money, smells great and is a labor of love.  Secondly, God provided amazing front load, HE washers and dryers.  But that’s not the best part!  They are GE machines which SING to you when you wake them up and when they are done working.  Who doesn’t like to “whistle while she works?”  I love it!

So let’s talk about #2:  Hanging Clothes Organizers.  I had searched and searched Pintrest for ideas but I wasn’t really too thrilled with the options there.  To be perfectly honest I am not thrilled with the ones we’ve made but we did make memories and got to spend quality time together while making them.  In short, they aren’t perfect, but they are a reflection of something beautiful: family time.

First I took a CD and traced it.  Then I took a lid to a baby bottle and traced it in the center of the large circle.  I was left with a large bagel sized circle with a smaller hole drawn in the middle. Last night I asked the boys to pick what color they’d like their organizers.  My oldest picked red (probably because he’s a Nebraska fan), my middle son picked orange and my youngest picked yellow.  All of the above was traced on those respective papers.  Actually the older boys had to use white paper and color in details with their requested colors, but forget that I’m getting ahead of myself.

Since they all share one closet, their clothes are constantly getting mixed up with each others so the goal for this project was to have their clothes in their own section and divided into categories of sorts.  I then decided on the following categories:  Pants, T-Shirts, Long Sleeved Shirts, Church Shirts, Church Pants and Coats.  Last night I did my youngest son’s organizers and I didn’t think to take pictures, but below I have taken some from our session tonight.

Red, red, red!  His life is consumed by red!  He did get really creative with his drawings.

Red, red, red! His life is consumed by red! He did get really creative with his drawings.

Here's 5 out of the 7 he created.  He suggested we add a section for belts.  Great idea, son!

Here’s 5 out of the 7 he created. He suggested we add a section for belts. Great idea, son!

Our middle son, inspired by our oldest son, attempts to recreate artwork seen on one of his brother's covers.

Our middle son, inspired by our oldest son, attempts to recreate artwork seen on one of his brother’s covers.

Naturally the youngest wants to join in on the creative fun!

Naturally the youngest wants to join in on the creative fun!

Looking for a little inspiration of his own...

Looking for a little inspiration of his own… (sorry for the blurry image, it’s hard to catch a 2 year old still while using a cell phone)

Here's part of mine.  I have many more sections than they do.  I can't wait to simplify, simplify, simplify.

Here’s part of mine. I have many more sections than they do. I can’t wait to simplify, simplify, simplify.

These will all be mounted onto cardboard to strengthen them.  A vertical line will be cut to the left of the last letter of each label so it can be easily slipped over the bar from which their clothes hang.  When I have each closet done, I will make an updated post so you can all see the finished product.  We still have to mount mine and the middle son’s art work and then I have to create and mount my husband’s.  His closet will be a bear because he has work uniforms, casual, hunting…shoot me now!  But it will be so much better when it’s all done.  I can’t wait!  I also picked up some clear bins with lids to further organize with today.  They were only $0.99 because they were part of the Christmas inventory at the local home repair store!  Sweet!

So tell me, do you organize your closets?  What do you use to accomplish your goals for organization?  Do you prefer DYI methods or store bought methods?

Cheers,
Andrea

2 thoughts on “Declutter the Distractions: Closets Part 1

    • You were very close! The ideas I saw on pintrest used the wooden letter O’s you get at craft stores. I started adding it up and it was going to be WAY too much money. At $2 each, that would have been $36 just for the boys room, wait, no $40. Then my closet alone I have 10 and Josh will have 12. Cardboard and paper fits our budget a bit better.

      Thanks for stopping in!

Leave a Reply

