We are on a Mission: How Do We Get to Haiti/Dominican Republic?

If you didn’t get to read my big announcement about our decision to go with a group from church going to Haiti/Dominican Republic this coming year, please check that out first for a little background.

As I mentioned there, one of my husband’s reservations about committing to go on a mission trip was the financial aspects of traveling to another country.  He and I have been entrusted with three spunky but beautiful kids ranging in ages 10 to 2.  My husband decided to follow his dream to become a fireman a good number of years ago (9 years ago I believe) which is awesome!  He is getting to do what he really wanted to do with his life.  As some of you may or may not know, public service workers don’t make enough to stash up huge amounts of savings.  Most fireman, for example, take on a second job to help support their families daily needs.  As the head of our home and the one with the responsibility to provide for his family, I can imagine that the thought of trying to come up with $2,400 for a mission trip must have been slightly overwhelming to him.

We have come up with several ideas for fundraisers.  In the comments below, I welcome any other suggestions that you might have up and above the ones I am about to tell you about.

  1. Rent-A-Sitter: I am a childcare provider by day, mother by night.  I have decided to offer my ability and desire to play with kiddos in the evening and weekend hours in order to bring in funds for our trip.  I will be asking for donations based on what the Lord leads each family to give.
  2. Handmade Items: I learned to crochet some 25 years ago as a kid and have taught myself how to knit in the last 3 or so years.  Was also taught how to sew as a little girl by my grandmother.  God has gifted me with the talent and ability to do such things, so I will be using those gifts to create beautiful items to offer up for sale.  As of right now, I will be asking for donations based on what the Lord leads each buyer to give.
  3. Homemade Baked Goods:  I plan to offer up homemade banana bread and apple pies closer to Christmas time for people to enjoy at their family/friend gatherings.  Price yet to be determined.

Josh, my husband, mentioned to me the other night that maybe we should offer these things up on a donation basis, because some people may not have $X.00 to give, but they want to support our trip just the same.  Others may see an item and wish to offer up and above the set price.  At first I thought, man that could be really dangerous because there are supply costs involved with each of these fundraisers.  Then I remembered something very important while I was contemplating how to bring that issue back up with him.  Josh told me that if he was awarded his vacation time, he would take that as an answer to prayer that, yes, we were supposed to be going to Haiti/Dominican Republic this coming year.  He was awarded that time, so what would make me think that God wouldn’t see us through with everything we needed to get there?  Matthew 7:7-11 states beautifully what I am trying to convey!

It says: “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.

“Which of you, if your son asks for bread, will give him a stone? 10 Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? 11 If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!

If I say I believe the bible and all it has to say, but then question God’s ability to provide the financial requirements for the trip, I would truly be missing the mark.  Of course he will provide for our needs.  There will be a few exceptions to our “by donation” prices.  A friend of mine (*waves enthusiastically* Hi Jenn!) and I plan to put our homemade items into craft fairs/vendor events for the sole purpose of raising money for our trip.  She and her mom have decided they’d like to go too!  I have also felt lead to divide anything over the $2,400 we need for our trip over each of the families committing to go to help them with their financial responsibilities concerning the trip.  Rest assured your contribution will not go to waste!

This scarf was made with lime green and slate gray chunky yarn.  It is knitted to a "one-size-fits-most" size.   I have put it around a tiny teen and an adult and it looks great on both ages and sizes.

This scarf was made with lime green and slate gray chunky yarn. It is knitted to a “one-size-fits-most” size. I have put it around the neck of a tiny teen and an adult and it looks great on both ages and sizes.

I will be listing some more of the homemade items here for you to see along the way.  If you’d like to purchase any of the items, please follow me over to facebook, like my page and either send me a message or comment on the item in my photos.  If the item has “SOLD” in the comments, you can still request one to be made for you.

Thank you for following our journey.  Please pray for us during this time that the one true God will strengthen our marriage and keep us focused on the right things at every turn until we are safely home with our kids after this trip.  Thank you very, very much.

Cheers,
Andrea

One thought on “We are on a Mission: How Do We Get to Haiti/Dominican Republic?

  1. Pingback: We’re on a Mission: Fundraising Ideas | Seriously Outnumbered

Leave a Reply

