Eat, Pray, Study

Today was a typical day.  Childcare arrived around 7.  I started spelling lessons with the boys at about 7:30 while making tie dyed banana pancakes.  Breakfast was served around 8:15 or so.   A friend stopped by to pick up some packing boxes so I put everything aside and chatted with her for a couple of hours.  Then on to other lessons for the day…or so I had planned. My husband called with a couple errands he needed me to do (…Shoot!  I just realized I forgot to return the new release video we rented.  “Now You See Me.”  It actually was pretty good.) so school was put on hold for a couple of hours.  Loading five kids, three of which are toddlers is not an easy task on the fly!  A day which was supposed to be done by noon today really didn’t get started (productively speaking) until 1:00 this afternoon when my childcare was taking their nap.

I confess…with all of the crazy stuff going on this morning, I was in a BAD mood when it came to patience with my two oldest.  Poor guys, they were the ones helping me with all of the obstacles, too.  As we sat down for school, I was faced with the reality that we hadn’t started our day in devotions in a couple weeks.  No wonder we weren’t flowing smoothly through school.  No wonder things were a chore instead of a pleasure this week.  *palm to forehead* I announced that we would be starting the day over at that point and I bee-lined to the book shelf to get our devotions book called, “Sticky Situations.”  I open up to today’s date and just…just take a guess what the topic was.  Anger.  Patience.  Taking time to LISTEN to people instead of jumping to conclusions.  If my husband is reading this right now he’s probably thinking, “Oh man I hope she paid attention to the lesson…”  At least three times during our reading, I was severely convicted.  I swear God may as well have taken the closed book (along with the rest of them on the shelf) and just whacked me upside the temple.  The scripture that went along with the kid-friendly write up was James 1:19,20:

19 My dear brothers and sisters, pay attention to what I say. Everyone should be quick to listen. But they should be slow to speak. They should be slow to get angry. 20 A man’s anger doesn’t produce the kind of life God wants.

Isn’t that the truth?  I mean do you really think God would want me to be in a bad mood while teaching my children?  What kind of witness is that for one, and for two…HELLO!!  This is the blessing and answered prayer I have been waiting on for years!  To be able to educate my kiddos right in our own home.  I had opened us up in prayer before we started and my oldest closed us.  I am happy to report that taking the time to hit the reset button was probably the most significant thing we did all day today.  Not only that but the study gave me the chance to admit my shortcomings to them.  I think it’s important for kids to realize it’s ok to admit when we don’t measure up, that we aren’t perfect, that without Christ and his living Word we would all be producing lives God wouldn’t care for.

With a fresh breeze in our sails we dove head first into history!

Last week we finished up the introduction chapter to Story of the World which dealt with the very definition of history and archeology.  As dry as it sounds, it was actually incredibly interesting.  We are now moving on to the very earliest history – the earliest nomadic people!  I showed you in our week three recap post that I introduced this section by helping the boys make game bags to use while hunting small game.  Gage also read the book “One Small Blue Bead” by Byrd Baylor and made a blue beaded necklace.  This week we jumped into the geographic details of the area in which they lived and how they lived, pre-mesopotamic and will cover the mesopotamic time frame as well over the next month(s).

The big hands on project today was making natural paints and using them to create our own cave painting.

Flour and water paint was used by Gage.  He added the water and mixed it all up to create a thick paste.

Flour and water paint was used by Gage. He added the water and mixed it all up to create a thick paste.

I presented Gage with a lid full of white flour and instructed him to add water to it until it formed a paste that he and his brother could paint with.

Both boys picked their own story they wanted to tell.  Gage chose to tell about the traveling path their group took from their old camp to their new one!

Both boys picked their own story they wanted to tell. Gage chose to tell about the traveling path their group took from their old camp to their new one!

I was impressed with the detailed story he told about his group’s journey from one camp to the next.  It’s very clear to me that he really gets what we are talking about!

Dirt left over from the Dirty Dig from last week was Jackson's first choice for the base of his paint.  He also added grass clippings!

Dirt left over from the Dirty Dig from last week was Jackson’s first choice for the base of his paint. He also added grass clippings!

Since Jackson is older, I gave him an empty lid and told him he had to find natural substances that he could make a paint or paste out of to use for his painting.  He decided his best option was to use dirt to make a mud out of because that’s exactly what he figured the would have used way back when.  As we walked back to the project site, I suggested adding grass to give the “paint” some texture and color.  You would think he was never allowed to play in the dirt with the look he gave as he was mixing the “ingredients” together.  It cracked me up!

Jackson's story actually tied very well with Gage's story!  He wanted to show a picture of the new camp which they set up in a cave.

Jackson’s story actually tied very well with Gage’s story! He wanted to show a picture of the new camp which they set up in a cave.

This kid got really detailed in his painting.  The instructions from the activity book suggested giving the kids wide, fat paint brushes and regular paint in natural colors.  I am so glad I deviated from their plan and let the kids explore a little bit more.  I feel like the more you can do hands on and as close as possible to the actual goings on, the better.

Both-Painting

As you can see a little bit, they shared their paint creation with each other so their pictures could have more than just one color.

4-Hands

Isn’t learning beautiful??  Stay tuned.  We are going to be making real bricks in the near future.  It’s funny because as Jackson was stirring up his mixture he asked several times if he could take the leftovers, if there were any, to make a brick like one that the early settlers would have used.  🙂  His gears are turning!

We had to finish up math after the kids got home from church choir tonight.  It was nearly 10 before Gage got to bed but all in all it turned out to be a fantastic day.  I think we really had fun getting dirty and putting some hands on application to a civilization that lived so long ago, it almost seems untouchable.

Cheers,
Andrea

PS:  Here’s a video that I took of the boys trying to figure out what they were making!

2 thoughts on “Eat, Pray, Study

  1. Pingback: Primary Colors | Daydreaming Rainbows

    • Thanks for adding my page! We had fun making our cave painting. I also run an in-home childcare so I will be using your painting methods, too!

Leave a Reply

