With YOUR help, I can be Sole Sister and Nashville Bound!

You have to wonder at times what you’re doing out there. Over the years, I’ve given myself a thousand reasons to keep running, but it always comes back to where it started. It comes down to self-satisfaction and a sense of achievement.  – Steve Prefontaine

Tank that our team organizer created for us to wear on race day of the Women's Half Marathon in Nashville, Tennessee.

Tank that our team organizer created for us to wear on race day of the Women’s Half Marathon in Nashville, Tennessee.

So here I am.  58 days out from the Women’s Half Marathon in Nashville.  I briefly wrote about this race in a post a few weeks ago.  Come to find out, one of the spurs from the metal actually detaches and doubles as a necklace charm to wear after the race!  Who knew?! I have a team and a friend coming in from Florida to run the race with me.  The last I heard, Sole Sisters had the largest registration numbers out of all teams registered!  That’s awesome!  The team organizer has worked VERY hard to create team jerseys (above) to run in on the day of the race, to organize group runs and to encourage/gather members.  She really is an inspiration.  I cannot tell you how hard it is for me to get out of bed or get off of the couch to run sometimes but this woman…she teaches fitness classes at the recreation center here in town and still finds a way to run her mileage.  I have heard stories of her going to church events for the Nashville Sounds and she brings her own healthy food.  I mean seriously she is the real deal and I am so grateful to even be asked to be a part of her team.  I hope one day I can get a chance to have her as a mentor/coach of sorts because she has so much to offer to a runner.

I mentioned earlier that I have a friend joining me from Florida for the race.  Her name is Teresa and is truly one of my angels.  To make a very long story short I ran my first 1/2 marathon in April and was fortunate to finish with a personal record.  However it was pouring down rain, it was cold and to boot, my dad and family was unable to make the trip to Nashville to cheer me on.  I was REALLY bummed about it and wrote on a fitness accountability group on facebook about the situation the Tuesday before my big race.  Several hours later I got a PM from one of my fellow accountability friends, Teresa, saying she was passing through my town and wanted to bring me a gift of encouragement so that I didn’t feel alone on my race that weekend.  I cannot tell you how amazing it felt to be able to have a little piece of someone rooting for me while I struggled on mile nine of my race. Ha!  I guess I should tell you what she gave me, huh!

Running Belt Teresa gave me the Tuesday before my first 1/2 Marathon.

Running Belt Teresa gave me the Tuesday before my first 1/2 Marathon.

Anyway I was able to carry my Gu Packets in there along with a tissue or two (which were promptly soaked after I got out of my vehicle) and my phone.  I had never seen these before but I am so in love with it.  It’s called a SpiBelt and I’m nearly sure it can fit everything you need and the kitchen sink in it.  As long as you have the zipper centered on the contents, it doesn’t bounce at all.  I literally use it every time I go run now.

Anyway she ran the Diva Dash in Florida the day after I ran the Rock N Roll Half here in Nashville.  When she checked her email later she learned that if she signed up for the Women’s Half where she lives, she could register for a second one at a discounted rate.  She messaged me and asked if I was still planning on doing the Women’s Half in Nashville and I told her absolutely!  She registered right away and then was added to the Sole Sisters about a week or so ago.

So I have the shoes, I have a team, and I have friends coming from far and wide to be on that team!  Seems like I’m set, right?  My heart wishes that were true.  As I said before, I am 58 days away from race day and I haven’t been able to register for the race myself yet.  Because running is just a hobby of mine, my race registrations, gear purchases, etc etc don’t come out of our family budget.  On June 1, I had a yard sale and raised enough through that to purchase my new pretty shoes and register for the Middle Half Marathon.  I had to register for that one first because it sells out really quickly (11 minutes and 12 seconds to be exact…all 3k entries).  I have even posted on several places about the dish and wash cloths that I make.

2 for $10. 10.5 inch square wash cloths.  Handmade by me.

2 for $10. 10.5 inch square wash cloths. Handmade by me.

I had hoped that I could sell enough sets of those to make some of my registration fees.  So far that hasn’t been real profitable.  I have listed other handmade items as well as unwanted items on facebook buy sell trade groups also.  No hits there.  I am panicked a little bit, I can’t lie.  With the cost of home education and just daily living expenses for a family of 5, I can’t just make the funds appear.

That’s where I am swallowing my pride and asking for help.  If you are interested in purchasing dish cloth or wash cloth sets (dish cloths are a bit smaller and go for 2 for $8) or feel like you might want to sponsor me by helping with my race registration, please email me or Facebook me as soon as possible.  I can ship the dish/wash cloths anywhere in the USA for 1st class postage prices and the sale can be finalized through my Etsy shop.  I will just create a reserved listing for your purchase.  If you have a cause or business and would like to offer sponsership, I would be happy to figure out a way to promote your cause and/or business the day of the race via body paint or a visor, hat, headband or something of the like that I could wear.  If you have any other ideas feel free to drop me a line as well.

I appreciate your support and continued encouragement.  I love the quote at the top of this post. Steve Prefontaine is a legend in the running world and have loved him as an inspiration figure since high school  The quote pretty much sums up why I run.  It is so satisfying to me when I am able to train, push myself further than I think I can go…and then in the end, accomplish my goal.  It’s also an amazing feeling when I can accomplish something like running a half marathon (hopefully next year a full marathon) and seeing how proud my kids are of me.  Man…

Cheers,
Andrea

2 thoughts on “With YOUR help, I can be Sole Sister and Nashville Bound!

  1. Pingback: A Night Downtown with My Sole Sisters | Seriously Outnumbered

  2. Pingback: Women’s Half Marathon Nashville, in Retrospect | Seriously Outnumbered

Leave a Reply

