Why Hello Me, Where Have You Been?

With being a childcare provider, mom, runner and wife, it’s hard to get away to take care of yourself sometimes.  Last Friday I managed to pull away from my home responsibilities to get my hair cut and highlighted and even got my eyebrows waxed!  Let me be the first to say, it was a LONG time coming!  Saturday was my 11th Wedding Anniversary so it was just another reason to go get all pretty!  One might find my title a little weird but it comes from the fact that I had decided to let my hair grow out about a year ago and I haven’t felt like myself since.  Once my hair sections felt to the ground and the length was gone, I finally felt pretty and all together again.

This is what my long hair defaults to most days.  Up.  Unstyled.  Ack!

This is what my long hair defaults to most days. Up. Unstyled. Ack!  In my defense, I was out kayaking with my husband as part of our 11th Wedding Anniversary celebration.

This was in March.  Just about to my shoulders. Dry and lifeless.

This was in March. Just about to my shoulders. Dry and lifeless.

When I sat in the chair, my amazing hair stylist agreed to take pictures at each stage of the transformation.  after we had put the highlights in, waxed my face and were on to the conditioning phase, we realized we had forgotten the first 3 steps of pictures!  After we had a good chuckle with it, we promised each other that we wouldn’t forget the next set of pictures.  She wrapped my hair up in a towel and guided me to the thrown which my outer beauty would be revealed.  She pulled the top section of hair up and began to cut my under layers in the back.  I don’t remember which of us realized it at that point but we got another laugh out of the situation and she put the top layers of hair back down from the clip and took (sort of) before pictures:

imagejpeg_2_12

Sort of pre-cut.  Frontal view.

Sort of pre-cut. Frontal view.

 

After she really started getting into the cut I couldn’t help but mess with her.  I looked into the mirror that was in front of me so that I could see her reaction and I said,” Ya know, I think I might want to keep some of my length afterall…”  She looked up like she wanted to be sick.  It was obviously too late and there was no turning back.  I played it off for just a couple of seconds before a big smile ran across my face.  I reassured her that I was just kidding and that I was excited to have my old cut back.

The old Me is BACK!

The old Me is BACK!

Ta Da!

Ta Da!

I think I will have her put a bit more blonde in next time.  I like it the way it is but it might be nice to have a little more.  I don’t know, we’ll see!

 

Cheers,
Andrea

 

Leave a Reply

