Rain, Ice Cream Truck and Barefeet

“I’m singing in the rain!  What a glorious feeling, I’m happy again!”
Gene Kelly in “Singing in the Rain”

What do you get when you have three boys cooped up in the house for three days, rain gently falling from the sky and you hear the ice cream truck song in the near distance?  I’ll tell you what you get!  A 10 and 7 year old tripping over themselves and each other to get their shoes out of the closet so they can dash down the street in hot pursuit of the truck that that captivating melody is coming from.  That’s what you get!  In the middle of the hustle and bustle and excitement, I’m pretty sure they asked if it was ok if they could and could I bring the money behind them.  I couldn’t help but smile inside at their enthusiasm as I grabbed my toddler who had tried to put his shirt on himself just moments before and had one arm coming out of the neck hole, the other properly placed in the other arm hole.  The only problem is that the shirt was inside out and his shoes?  They were nowhere to be found.  Alas, I have to dart out the door because my other two are making their way down the street at an alarming rate.

I get a block and a half away from our home to see my oldest with his head hanging low.  He has concluded that the ice cream truck must have been on the street behind our house and completely out of touch.  I was really hoping at that point that the small red and yellow truck would appear in front of us, stocked with all three of the kid’s favorite treats.  We stood there for a moment feeling the drizzle fall on the top of our heads and listening to the whisper of rain hitting the pavement.  Luckily for us, we have a grocery store just a block from where we were standing.  With the ice cream money in my pocket and little boys hands in mine, we set out to get a cold treat from their freezer case.  You could almost see their spirits rise as I explained to them what we were going to do.  Their heavy steps lightened, their long faces lifted.  That really  makes a mama feel good to be able to turn those frowns upside-down. We easily spent 15 minutes trying to come an agreement as to which treat to purchase for later enjoyment.  Nutty Buddies Cones won out after some discussion and a tournament of Rock, Paper Scissors.

After we paid the lady at the register, we turned our shoes toward home. Well except for the barefoot toddler.  As I watched the boys hair getting more wet and their carefree spirits floating on the precipitation drenched air, I took a moment to breathe in the moment.  You know, I really didn’t want to get off of the couch just a half hour or so before.  I wanted to stay warm and comfortable as I knitted a housewarming gift for a friend who just moved to the northeast.  As much as making a handmade gift warms my heart, nothing could compare to what I was experiencing at that point.  I decided to “let my hair down” and my toddler, too!  He began shrieking with excitement as he took off running like Frankenstein on the wet church parking lot after his older brothers.  As we neared the end of the parking lot and our home, I gathered my baby into my arms again and turned circles and sang to each other.  The older boys, in true brotherly competition, raced each other the rest of the way and argued as to who reached the driveway first.

Thank you, Lord, for helping me to keep my priorities straight.  Sometimes we need to run and dance in the rain.  Sometimes we have to get off of the warm, comfy couch in order to warm the heart of the gifts God has given to us.  It’s ok to get a little wet for the sake of making memories.  May I always remember this life experience.

Cheers,
Andrea

One thought on “Rain, Ice Cream Truck and Barefeet

Leave a Reply

